Lent 2013 - Vol. 66

The Ten Plagues
Scriptural reflections from the Book of Exodus 
Reflections by Don Schwager / Art work by Yvette Rock

Go to > | 1st plague | 2nd plague | 3rd plague | 4th plague | 5th plague | 6th plague | 7th plague |
| 8th plague | 9th plague | 10th plague
    I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment Exodus 6:6
The Book of Exodus in the Old Testament gives the account of how God raised up Moses, his servant, to deliver the chosen people from oppression in the land of Egypt. Exodus recounts a seven-fold promise which God made to Moses and the people (Exodus 6:6-8):
1.  I will free you from the burdens which the Egyptians have laid upon you.
2.  I will release you from slavery to them. 
3.  With strokes of power I will deliver you. 
4.  I will adopt you as my own people. 
5.  I will be your God. 
6.  I will bring you to the land I swore I would give to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. 
7.  I will give this land to you for your inheritance. 
This seven-fold promise forshadows the fulness of redemption which Jesus Christ fulfilled for the human race when he delivered us from slavery to sin and death through his victory on the cross. 

The ten plagues demonstrated God's power and presence in a land that worshiped idols and oppressed the people of God. Pharoah was worshiped as a divine person in Egypt. His defiance and refusal to submit to God is a type or symbol of the Angel of Light (also called Lucifer and Satan) who was thrown out of heaven for his defiant refusal to serve God. 

The plagues brought judgment on Pharoah and the Egyptians for enslaving Israel, and judgment on all the gods of Egypt. They demonstrate that the Lord is the only true God and greater than all other gods. 

They also demonstrated for Israel, and for all believers, both the depravity of sin and our need for God's redemption.

The Book of Revelations also describes plagues which will take place at the end of the age, when the Lord Jesus returns to judge the world and to usher in his kingdom of righteousness and peace. See Revelations 15:1, 16:3-7. 


plague of blood

plague of frogs

plague of gnats

plague of flies

plague of livestock

plague of boils

plague of hail

plague of locusts

plague of darkness

plague of the firstborn

click on each box to view scriptural reflection for each plague

Living Bulwark (c) copyright 2013  The Sword of the Spirit
publishing address: Park Royal Business Centre, 9-17 Park Royal Road, Suite 108, London NW10 7LQ, United Kingdom
email: living.bulwark@yahoo.com